Family

I’ve always been fascinated with genealogy. In high school, I managed to get hold of a genealogy book for the Turpins. Nerd that I was, I traced our particular Turpin clan’s history all the way back to Michael Turpin, who left Southampton England somewhere around 1630 to settle in Virginia and to be among the earlier groups who ventured south into North Carolina. Our Turpins kept moving South, eventually landing in north Georgia. (I guess I just kept the family tradition alive by moving us another 600 miles south.) I’m such a nerd that I typed it all up and gave it to my grandmother for Christmas that year.

And while I’ve traced back the Ayers folks (maternal grandmother), I’ve not written it down yet. Such is life.

You can imagine how giddy I was when I discovered that the National Archives just released the 1940 Census online in a searchable format. After spending a good three hours poking around on there, I found each of my grandparents! (I’ll happily explain how to do this if any other genealogy nerds out there are interested!)

My Maternal Grandmother, Thelma Mae:

My Maternal Grandfather, Marvin:

My Paternal Grandfather, Otis:

My Maternal Grandmother, NervieLee:

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “Family

  1. Thelma Worley

    Russ see what you can find about mamas father ROBERT LEE ASH. he died when mama was 18 months old. I have never see any of our ASH kin. I have traced up his brothers and sisters. THANKS
    THELMA Dunson Worley

Leave a comment