Been ruminating a while…

It’s been a while since the last post. Things have gotten busy. And I’ve been ruminating a good bit. My classes this year are pretty good, for the most part. I gave up my planning, so I’m teaching 4 blocks of English III and 4 blocks of Honors English III. That’s fun.

I also took on the role of sophomore class sponsor. That’s been fun, too. Especially Homecoming week, with the Powder Puff game, pep rally, and dance clean up. Good times. =) 

The Golden Apple award. Forty-one teachers at our school were nominated. I was one of them, which is incredibly flattering and makes me feel good. Now, I’ve gotta fill out a bunch of paperwork and hope that I’m selected as one of 30 finalists. Then they’ll do interviews and observations to choose the winners. Each winner gets $3000, so I’m putting on my A-game for this one. Three grand would be pretty sweet! 

I decided to teach The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn to my Honors kids this year. I’ve never taught it, so it’s been an interesting ride so far (18 chapters in). The kids, surprisingly, seem to be liking it. Well, those who are reading it, that is. 

Still thinking about leaving teaching. I’m pretty sure that this will be our last year in Florida, but who knows where this grand adventure will lead us? I’m hoping North Carolina (research triangle) or Tennessee (Nashville area), personally. And the more I think about it, the more I’m thinking that this will be my last year in the classroom. Don’t get too riled up; there’ll be more on that in a post in the very near future. 

Finally, tomorrow marks the one year anniversary (do you even call it that?!?!) of the death of a good friend’s spouse. They both – and their son – are weighing heavy on my heart as this godawful anniversary approaches. Sending positive thoughts their way. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment