This week…

This has been a tough week for me emotionally. And I blame Duck Dynasty. Seriously. Last weekend, Aidan was sick so there was a lot of down time. It just so happened that seasons 1 & 2 of DD were free on Xbox video, so I started to watch them all again. I’d seem a few episodes before and liked them, so I revisited the show – reminded by all of the hype surrounding the new season.

After watching Seasons 1 & 2 twice, and catching up on season 3…I must admit that the show has made me feel quite uneasy. Not in the ways that you might think, though. Watching these crazy rednecks has awakened some deep-seeded nostalgia within the depths of my soul.

And – I’m not kidding – has kept me up at night.

For years, I’ve heard the common refrain: “You should write a book.” I agree! I should! The problem is that I have about 3 books rolling around in my brain right now. So I’ve finally started putting pen to paper on one of those ideas. Literally. For some reason, I like to start writing with a notebook and a pen. I had a lot of epiphanies about how to approach this one idea last week. Then life happened (the kid got sick) and I had to pause for a bit.

While I was pausing, I watched Duck Dynasty. The aftermath of that has gotten me to thinking almost nonstop about something else to write…

I’m thinking that I might throw out some ideas here just to see what happens. At the least, it might keep me honest about developing and finishing a project. I’ve already gotten a good bit written in my notebook. The next step is finding the courage to keep going.

I think I might use this forum to do just that….

This should be interesting! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment